other services

Almost all of Canada’s provinces and territories can nominate people to immigrate to Canada. These people have the skills, education and work experience they need to contribute to the economy of that province or territory.

To apply under the Provincial Nominee Program, you must:

•  be nominated by a specific Canadian province or territory, then

•  apply to Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) to become a permanent resident of Canada.

Each participating province and territory has its own nomination guidelines. They can change without notice. You should check their websites for the most up-to-date information.


Most provinces and territories in Canada have an agreement with the Government of Canada that lets them nominate immigrants who want to settle there.

You must apply in two stages.

•  First, you must apply to the province or territory where you want to live. It will review your application based on two things:

◦                     its immigration needs and

◦                     if you really plan to live there.

•  The criteria vary and can change without notice. You should visit one of the websites below for the most current information.

◦                     Alberta

◦                     British Columbia

◦                     Manitoba

◦                     New Brunswick

◦                     Newfoundland and Labrador

◦                     Northwest Territories

◦                     Nova Scotia

◦                     Ontario

◦                     Prince Edward Island

◦                     Saskatchewan

◦                     Yukon

After a province or territory nominates you, you must apply to Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) for permanent residence. A CIC officer will assess your application based on Canadian rules. As part of the process, you will have to pass a medical exam and get a police check (certificate). All immigrants must have these checks, no matter where they plan to live in Canada.